National Standards for Disability Services

At the 18 December 2013 meeting of the Standing Council on Disability Reform, ministers from all jurisdictions endorsed the revised National Standards for Disability Services (NSDS). A copy of the standards can be found below:

National Standards for Disability Services

These standards are seen as a transitional reform enabling nationally consistent quality standards to apply for the disability services sector.  They have a greater focus on person centred approaches and promote choice and control by people with disability.

The NSDS have been through exhaustive stages of consultation, validation and user testing, culminating in a set of six standards that are able to be applied across a broad range of circumstances.

They are:

  • Rights
  • Participation and Inclusion
  • Individual Outcomes
  • Feedback and Complaints
  • Service Access
  • Service Management.

An Easy English workbook, designed for workers to use with people who have difficulty reading and understanding written information:

National Standards for Disability Services – Easy English Version

For more information and other supporting documentation regarding the National Standards for Disability Services, please click here.

Your Feedback

As a high quality service provider, we at ATLAS recognise that service users are the main focus of our organisation. We strongly encourage you to share your opinions, feedback and thoughts so that we may continue to improve and provide the highest possible standard of customer service.